Jingle Bell Rock — already?

I come from a long line of people who do not start listening to Christmas music until the day after Thanksgiving when the lights start to get hung and the perfect tree is sought out. Every year I am always bothered by the amount of Christmas decorations set out by Halloween day and before Thanksgiving. It’s getting a bit ridiculous. I think it’s a legitimate argument that I would like to get through one holiday and then shop for the next — unless your the type of person who stock piles their decorations. Who knows.

Don’t get me wrong. I am just as sappy about Christmas as the next person. I love the feeling you get when it’s the holiday season and how everyone seems to just be in a better mood. I love the smell of Christmas. I bought two cinnamon candles and two evergreen candles tonight to help make the apartment smell of the holiday season. I also bought a Santa Clause hat. Yes. I am a hypocrite. It was sitting at the check out screaming for someone to buy it and it only was $1. Other than that, though, nothing else is being bought for Christmas until after Thanksgiving. You can bet on that if you’d like.

While we’re on the topic of Christmas, I would like to share with you all a piece of information that I found out a few days ago. I was reading the posts on Twitter and saw that due to the falling economy, businesses are closing and Gift Cards will not be valid for those companies anymore. So, if you buy a Gift Card for someone for the holidays, make sure it’s a good investment and there is not chance of that business going under. I guess you’d be surprised. Apparently, according to the article I read, a guy was unable to redeem his Gift Card from a major electronics company and would not be refunded the money. It’s definitely something to think about. Gift Cards are a nice gesture, but maybe you can knit a scarf this year…?

So, apparently the Christmas tree in Rockefeller Center is put up already and while I was at a journalism conference in Kansas City, they were putting their’s up as well, which was during Halloween, mind you. That’s a bit soon, don’t you think? I love love love Christmas, but I love it when it’s in December and snowy and it’s on the 25th for a reason, right? We were not meant to celebrate it on Halloween. lol Geez.

Eh. Idk. It’s late and these are ramblings of Christmas. What are your thoughts? When do you start decorating? Sweet dreams, readers.

– Boles –

About Editor

The Unwritten Letters Project works to empower others by providing a safe, judgment-free outlet that encourages participants to articulate, heal from and overcome hardships through the art of letter writing. It's your voice, your words, your time to say everything you've always wanted to say. Are they alive, deceased? Speak up. Didn't have the courage to say it then? Say it now. Can't say it in person? Let us say it for you and help others realize they're not alone in the process. We're here to listen to EVERYONE. No one is turned away, every letter is cherished and wanted. We also actively participate in any Bullying and Suicide Prevention effort we can. Love is louder than your bullies. Prove it. Submit your letter today. Thank you!
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

