Auditions in STL and other news

2009 will be an exciting year for filmSo, there was an open casting call in St. Louis today (1/24/09) and I went. My mom told me about them on Thursday and I drove down Friday night just to drive back Saturday afternoon. Was it worth it? Hell yes!

This was my first time actually going to an open casting call. I recently sent my headshot and resume to another casting call via snail-mail, but this time, I was there…in the flesh and loving every minute of it!

The movie is called “Up in the Air” and will star George Clooney, Anna Kendrick (Jessica in “Twilight”) and Vera Farmiga (“The Departed” 2006). Well, that’s all who is announced so far, because, I mean, they JUST had auditions. So, anyway, casting call started at 10a.m., but my mom and I got there at a little after 9a.m. thinking we would be standing in a long (but not too long) line. Wow, were we wrong. There were hundreds of people there already standing in a line that could have taken up the whole length of the mall in single file….and then some. It was insane, but oh so amazing. The portion of the movie shot in St. Louis has to do with airlines (filmed at Lambert Airport — rumored) and hotels and such, so almost everyone was in travel/business attire and it was sweet to see so many hopeful actors in the making. The lady who stood behind me, Jen, was in her 40s and she was awesome. It was her first casting call as well, and she said she was doing it for the experience while work is slow. She told her husband that I was a star in the making. HAHA She also told me I was golden because I had good hair and skin. Who knew? Yeah, right. Anyway, that boosted my confidence at least a little.

All ‘hopefuls’ were to bring a color headshot and already-filled-out application. I was ready. Hehe. Of course, in any line of thousands of people, there were bound to be the annoying ones who liked to hear the sound of their own voices…who am I kidding…I was in a line full of wunnabe actors…of course they liked to hear the sound of their own voices. lol. I mean, I do it all the time. Haha. Even if nothing comes out of this, I am thrilled to be able to say that I was at an open casting call for a major motion picture produced by Paramount. Geez. Can ALL of you say that? Can ANY of you say that? If you can, let’s share stories. If you can’t, try it. I guarantee your experience won’t be disappointing. Yeah, the lines are long, your feet will hurt, and you might complain a little, but actors are entertaining (imagine that!) and afterward you (somehow) have a new level of confidence in yourself and something to potentially look forward to.

"New Moon" out in theaters in November 2009*So, in OTHER news, did you all hear that Dakota Fanning might be cast in the “Twilight” sequel “New Moon”? They want her to play Jane, the little Volturi vampire at the end of the book. You know the one. Anyway, what do you think? Will little (I guess not so little anymore) Dakota Fanning live up to the role? Currently, we are expecting a slightly more dark version of the blond in the upcoming film “Push” starring her beside Chris Evans and Camilla Belle (Is she still dating a JoBro and fancying Rob Pattinson at the sane time?). I have to say, I am pretty excited to go see this one (released Feb. 6, 2009) because I am excited that Hollywood didn’t put her in another film where she plays the sweet, innocent little kid. Hollywood not typecasting? Whoa. Shocker. You all know how I dislike that move.

**Also — Jan. 22, 2009 was officially one year since the tragic death of the beloved actor, Heath Ledger (R.I.P). I completely forgot that it happened in January and ended up watching two Ledger films on the 21st completely on accident. I thought that was nice and convenient. Gosh, he was remarkable. The movies I watched were “A Knight’s Tale” and “10 Things I Hate About You” — both equally as amazing classics of his and of..well..all time. I mean, he incorporated rock ‘n’ roll into a movie about knights…that was awesome and he was just…amazing in “10 Things.” I don’t know about any of you, but I miss him. 😦

***Did any of you watch ER while you were in High School or NoW?! Well, now that I’ve mentioned George Clooney once, I might as well tell you what he’s up to. He is going back to ER for the series finale!! So is nurse Carole Hathaway!! Remember her? Julianna Margulies is also putting the scrubs back on to return to the finale, according to this article.

Well, I think that’s all I have for now. Stay tuned and tell your friends. 🙂

About Editor

The Unwritten Letters Project works to empower others by providing a safe, judgment-free outlet that encourages participants to articulate, heal from and overcome hardships through the art of letter writing. It's your voice, your words, your time to say everything you've always wanted to say. Are they alive, deceased? Speak up. Didn't have the courage to say it then? Say it now. Can't say it in person? Let us say it for you and help others realize they're not alone in the process. We're here to listen to EVERYONE. No one is turned away, every letter is cherished and wanted. We also actively participate in any Bullying and Suicide Prevention effort we can. Love is louder than your bullies. Prove it. Submit your letter today. Thank you!
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

