Update: I should write more

So, I figured I haven’t written in a while and my best writing, or at least I have the “best” ideas, late at night. It currently is 2:38a.m. where I am, I have a doctor’s appt. in the morning, two classes and a whole week of Midterm work to get through, but this totally is more important, right?

I haven’t seen any recent movies or concerts or listened to much recent music, but why does everything have to be recent? People always are so busy worrying about what’s good now, but what about what used to be good? (haha reminds me of a scene in “13 Going on 30”) I’m watching “Center Stage” right now, and I have to admit (warning: girlie moment) that male dancers are pretty much amazing, haha. I mean, this movie pretty much lacks great acting and not one of these actors really went on to do anything substantial, but the dancing was definitely superb. Fun fact: There actually was a Center Stage 2. Cooper and Johnathan are still in it, but the man and woman love interest/leads are different. It’s definitely different than the first (in the sense that the female lead isn’t even in the American Ballet Academy), but it’s equally as filled with bad acting and great dancing, so if you like the first one, you probably will like the second, so I recommend it for a girls’ night or night in doing homework.

Another oldie but a goodie that a friend of mine and I were talking about the other day is “Small Soldiers.” I used to watch that (on VHS…yes, I know. I’m old) all the time. I still own it on VHS. What ever happened to Gregory Smith after “Everwood”? First of all, I loved that TV series, so why is it gone and how did it end? Second of all, I always thought he was a good actor, so let’s see him back in the spotlight. Someone else I haven’t seen in a while is Josh Hartnett. What happened to him, too? I was always a fan of the “almost famous” actors who should have been A-listers and then mysteriously disappear into the c-list crowd with the rest of the Disney Channel back-ups. (Did I say that?)

So, random rumor that I heard the other day about all the “Twilight” hype: They want Drew Barrymore to direct “Eclipse.” I am not sure if it’s true or not, and I’m not entirely sure how much directing experience she has, but if they want her to direct, on what grounds did they make their decision? I mean…just wondering. I don’t really consider her that great of an actor, yeah, she’s had some good rounds, but I think it takes a good actor to make a good director…maybe I’m wrong.

I want to see more:

Johnny Depp, Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet, Josh Hartnett, Gregory Smith, Hilary Duff (where’d she go?), Tom Hanks (COME BACK!), Jake Gyllenhaul, all the girls from Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and Gennifer Goodwin (I loved her in both “Mona Lisa Smile” and “He’s Just Not That Into You” and I think Hollywood struck gold when discovering her).

Favorite oldie but a goodie? Who do you want to see more of? Want me to review a movie? Speak up!

– Alex –

About Editor

The Unwritten Letters Project works to empower others by providing a safe, judgment-free outlet that encourages participants to articulate, heal from and overcome hardships through the art of letter writing. It's your voice, your words, your time to say everything you've always wanted to say. Are they alive, deceased? Speak up. Didn't have the courage to say it then? Say it now. Can't say it in person? Let us say it for you and help others realize they're not alone in the process. We're here to listen to EVERYONE. No one is turned away, every letter is cherished and wanted. We also actively participate in any Bullying and Suicide Prevention effort we can. Love is louder than your bullies. Prove it. Submit your letter today. Thank you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update: I should write more

  1. Allyn says:

    Ben Affleck directed a FANTASTIC movie. It has his brother in it, but I forget the name right now. It was great though. Just saying he isn’t the GREATEST (insert one of the most annoying, or the question, “How did he become famous?”) actor.

Leave a Reply

