Concert @ Blueberry Hill — Meiko

So, I definitely have been having a great time while back in St. Louis for a brief spot of summer break. Why did I come home? Well, seems like the foot I had to have surgery on last September is still broken…screw intact, so I have to get a cast on Thursday. Oh well. Life will go on. BUT I have gone to a concert in the meantime and LOVED it and would like to share my experience with my loyal readers.

Who I saw::

Opening: Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons — http://www.myspace.com/thewanderingsons

Headlining: Meiko –http://www.myspace.com/meiko

Overall sound:: Indie-rock, folk, acoustic heaven!

Venue:: Blueberry Hill Duck Room off Delmar in the Loop — St. Louis, MO

Concert rating: 5 out of 5 stars BY FAR

Thoughts::

If you want to listen to some good music, I HIGHLY recommend checking these two bands out. Corey Chisel and the Wandering Sons feature a male lead singer, but the definitely not overbearing female vocals in the background are phenomenal! You will NOT be disappointed. There is definitely a down-home folk-y sound to them, but when it comes to raw talent, they’ve got it and they deserve to be recognized.

Now, Meiko. She is a cross between a smart ass tomboy and the funny friend you keep around for cheap laughs. She was amazing at keeping the Duck Room focused on her. I’m pretty positive that she writes all her songs and she provided the stories behind them. I highly recommend “Boys with Girlfriends.” It pretty much depicts my life and all it’s insanity while I was in middle and high school…anyway. lol She encompasses the indie-rock genre to a T and she’s good at it. Her sound reminds me of a rougher/more bad ass Colbie Caillat and it’s definitely worth checking out. Her band is non-traditional with her on the acoustic, a really tall guy on the bass (not the guitar, the jazz-y one), a middle-aged man on the ukulele/keyboard and a drummer.

The concert itself was pretty amazing. It was my very FIRST 21+ show and I had a overly-strong Long Island Ice Tea that took me almost the whole, what, 3 hours, to drink it. Ew. I like the sugary drinks where you can barely tell the alcohol is added. My dad was the one who took me to dinner at Blueberry Hill and then wanted to see a live show afterward, so we ventured on down to the Duck Room and it wasn’t packed exactly, but there were quite a few people there. I think the two bands deserved more people to be there. They deserved a bigger venue. Shit, I would have seen them at the Pageant. Anyway, here’s a link to a video I took of Meiko singing “Under my Bed” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGFOOtxk5OM&feature=channel_page

I think you’ll like it, so check it out. 🙂

About Editor

The Unwritten Letters Project works to empower others by providing a safe, judgment-free outlet that encourages participants to articulate, heal from and overcome hardships through the art of letter writing. It's your voice, your words, your time to say everything you've always wanted to say. Are they alive, deceased? Speak up. Didn't have the courage to say it then? Say it now. Can't say it in person? Let us say it for you and help others realize they're not alone in the process. We're here to listen to EVERYONE. No one is turned away, every letter is cherished and wanted. We also actively participate in any Bullying and Suicide Prevention effort we can. Love is louder than your bullies. Prove it. Submit your letter today. Thank you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Concert @ Blueberry Hill — Meiko

  1. Vanessa B says:

    OMG – I looooooooooooooooooooove MEIKO!! I bought her album on iTunes a week ago after hearing “Boys With Girlfriends” on the radio and I’ve been listening to it non-stop – sooooooooooo good! If you’re not familiar – check her out at http://www.myspace.com/meiko – you’ll really like her too!

  2. Brandon says:

    My girlfriend and I were at this show too and we both loved it. I posted a review of it on my site (http://www.nodnarb.net/post/2009/05/20/Meiko-Blueberry-Hill.aspx) if you’d like to check it out.

  3. Pingback: Meiko @ Blueberry Hill

Leave a Reply

