Paranormal Activity 2 Review (spoilers)

In honor of the fabulous holiday approaching and the full moon tonight, my mom, a friend of hers and a friend of mine had a ladies night out to see “Paranormal Activity 2”. I’ll admit to the fact that I was practically scared to go into the theater, so I think the anticipation of being scared really heightened just how scared I actually became during the film. When you picture someone practically curled up in a ball with her thumbs in her ears and fingers over her eyes, you don’t exactly think of a 22 year old, but alas, that is what I looked like as I watched the second half of this beautifully scary movie.

The first half was a bit slow moving as the audience got to know the new dominant family – still part of the original family, but this time the movie focuses on Katie’s younger sister, her husband, step daughter and newborn son. Katie and Micah make their way through various scenes, and the end will absolutely shock you… or at least…it did me. The way the writers tied the two movies together can be called nothing but genius. I guess you can say this movie sets itself up as a prequel to “Paranormal Activity” but ends up with sequel-like qualities during the last eighth of the film. Instead of starting completely over with a new demon, it is in fact the same spirit haunting the family since the 1930s. The demon is after the first born male child of Katie’s side of the family, which happens to be her sister’s newborn son. Engaging in much the same scare tactics such as throwing doors open/shut, dragging bodies out of the room, possessing the main character and creepily casting shadows and footsteps throughout the house, I expected nothing but screams from every member of the audience, and that’s exactly what happened. Do not go to this movie expecting not to be scared. Go to this movie expecting to scream, get chills up your spine, goosebumps down your arm and jump in sync with the rest of the unsuspecting audience members around you. This is not a movie to watch alone.

As for acting – Since this film is set up to be a home movie, I actually expect the actors to be able to convince me of reality more so than movies shot regularly…if that makes sense. The sister and husband were a little less convincing, but they still performed admirably. Those who really shined, however, were the daughter, the child and yes, even the dog! The teenage daughter (there’s not a cast list on IMDB…) was so believable. My mom said that she had to remind herself this wasn’t real at times because of her performance. I guess you’ll just have to see it to know what I mean. 😉

Basically, the film opens with Katie’s sister bringing home the baby from the hospital, shows him a year later, the house gets “broken in to” and after installing security cameras in the house, the demon wreaks havoc on the family, stopping at nothing to get to the soul of the first born son. I will tell you that the creepiest scenes happen in the kitchen, the baby’s room and a brief moment in the basement when I had to shut my eyes….but I want you to see it for yourself, so GO…be scared, and let me know what you think!

About Editor

The Unwritten Letters Project works to empower others by providing a safe, judgment-free outlet that encourages participants to articulate, heal from and overcome hardships through the art of letter writing. It's your voice, your words, your time to say everything you've always wanted to say. Are they alive, deceased? Speak up. Didn't have the courage to say it then? Say it now. Can't say it in person? Let us say it for you and help others realize they're not alone in the process. We're here to listen to EVERYONE. No one is turned away, every letter is cherished and wanted. We also actively participate in any Bullying and Suicide Prevention effort we can. Love is louder than your bullies. Prove it. Submit your letter today. Thank you!
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paranormal Activity 2 Review (spoilers)

  1. MiMi says:

    OMG! That movie was beyond scary! I have a 2 yr old son and I thought of him the whole time! I wanted to smack the dad! Awesome film and this is coming from someone who never saw Paranormal 1.

  2. MiMi says:

    OMG! This movie was SO scary!!! I cringed everytime another night showed across the screen! I have a 2 year old son whom I thought of through the whole show! I also wanted to B-slap the dad! All in all this was a really good film, coming from someone who never even saw Paranormal 1.

Leave a Reply

